At it again: Infocus LP280 Projector Lamp Hacking

Hardware related mods, hacks, questions and ideas.
Jarod
Site Admin

At it again: Infocus LP280 Projector Lamp Hacking

Post by Jarod » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:19 pm

I'm trying this again, Hacking an Infocus LP280 projector to use a high brightness LED array as a bulb instead of the ugly, expensive old xenon bulbs.

Be very cautious, projectors have extremely high voltage inside them and will cause serious injury if handled wrong. I have burned my skin, lost control of my muscles and probably came awful close to stopping my heart before I started playing it safer with these.

ALWAYS insulate yourself, have a piece of wood as a workbench, or plastic or something non-conductive.
NEVER use tools that are not insulated to poke around with, leathermans, pliers without plastic handles, etc.

Ok, on to the cool part.
There is a 3 wire plug that tells the lamp power supply to power the lamp up, i'm hoping that one of those 3 wires is feedback to the board and with a quick jumper wire we'll be in business.

heres some photos showing what i've found so far.
Attachments
IMG_1413.JPG
Projector model LP280
IMG_1414.JPG
Need something shoved in here to allow lamp to power up when there isnt actually a lamp installed.
IMG_1407.JPG
Circuit board. Interesting part circled
IMG_1409.JPG
Lamp. conveniantly labeled. when this 3 wire connector is unplugged the power supply makes no noise or high voltage. this is our 1st target with the multimeter

Jarod
Site Admin

Re: At it again: Infocus LP280 Projector Lamp Hacking

Post by Jarod » Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:45 am

Found it. now I just have to come up with the cash to get this done and returned.

Here's what i found:

Here is the Ballast for the old bulb. contains very high voltage parts. it receives around 380 DC Volts from the main psu.
IMG_1417.JPG