Transistor tester

Hardware related mods, hacks, questions and ideas.
foxmiles

Transistor tester

Post by foxmiles » Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:53 am

I ran across a design for a neat little tool a couple months ago, it can identify a bunch of discrete components: transistors, mosfets, diodes, etc. It's based on a atmega8, though a 328 works fine once you get the firmware compiled.
tt1.jpg
Transistor Tester, no component
tt2.jpg
Transistor tester, LED inserted
tt3.jpg
Transistor tester, Transistor inserted
The Source: (You probably want to run this through google translate)
http://www.mikrocontroller.net/articles ... stortester

UPDATED FILE 3/19/2012 - V0.2 - includes Fuse Bits, updated schematic & PCB with groundplane.
Attachments
ttester-0.2.zip
KiCAD schematic & pcb layout. NOTE: COMPLETELY UNTESTED DESIGN! Mine does not necessarily follow any of this, I am really new to kicad and electronics / pcb design in general! I think I got it all right, but compare with schematic on source page! Includes firmware for atmega328. Again, use at your own risk! Will add fuse settings later, forgot what I used.
(21.75 KiB) Downloaded 373 times
Digging with a spoon will accomplish more than leaning on a shovel.

Jarod
Site Admin

Re: Transistor tester

Post by Jarod » Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:23 pm

I'm done with chemical etching. I'm not sure if the boards we have are coated with photoresist or something.

I can do toner transfer perfectly. every time its perfect.

But I put the board into the acid and it gets this film over all the copper and sits there and never actually etches properly. I'm not sure if I could get it to come off with some kind of chemical, it wont come off with sandpaper, as I always sand the copper right before I transfer the toner.